Opinion of Others

Firsthand reports from our customers

By Jürgen Lompe, 11-08-2017

I would like to take advantage of my new order to speak about the success of Silentwind's generator application at our caravan “BIOMOBIL EX328”, installed in 2013. Especially during winter time, when the solar panels are nearly inefficient, it becomes a self-sufficient home experience.

A lot of people get curious about the blades and make a lot of questions, that we are very pleased to answer. The experience to live in a caravan and its genuine alternative - "A continuous movement".

Thank you for your efforts and longtime support and assistance.

 

by Dino Silva on S/V Lua "15-07-2014 19:06"

"Good friends,
Nice to know AIS is sending.
Really good trip - reaching all the time from starboard - not too strong, but sometimes 2nd reef and genoa 30% furled.
Only the last night motoring for 1st time since begining.
Butterfly (Silentwind) is working so well and smooth - charged 217,8 Ah in 3 days!"
 

by James and Claire Short at S/Y Ocean Rainbow "06-05-2014 23:38"

"....we recognised the need for more power to recharge our batteries during our Atlantic crossing last year and fitted a Silentwind, as soon as we could. Now some five months later, we are as impressed with its performance as we were when it was fitted. When the wind blows at anything more than 8 knots, we simply have all the power we need. It is quiet and even when accelerating in a gust, one gets quite quickly used to the sensation! In fact, our wind generator has now been granted full crew status and is known as Wizzz."

 

by Mike OReilly  "06-08-2013, 16:17"

"I've written on this already, but my early results with my new Spreco SilentWind are quite positive. I am quite noise-sensitive, and I was looking for a big improvement over our previous generator, an old Air-X.

I found the SilentWind's noise levels to be quite tolerable at all wind speeds. It is not silent, but I was easily able to carry on conversations in the cockpit right below the generator while it was whirring away at ~15-20knots. It produced no ugly vibrations, and was almost inaudible ~3 boat lengths away. I asked a number of fellow boaters who shared our anchorage, and none had anything negative to say about the noise (some were surprised to hear we had a wind generator).

Power-wise, it seemed to be more or less on-spec. We would start seeing ~1-2 amp at around 10-12 knots, and ~3-4 amps around 15 knots. After that it really took off. In 20 knots we were getting over 8-10 sustained amps, and I'm sure I saw 17 amps at 25 knots.

We had a few windy days where we kept turning up the freezer just to use all the power. Of course, on no-wind days we were power-starved. I'm installing solar now to compliment our system, but I'm pleased with the Silentwind so far.”

 

by coming soon" Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:32 pm"
IWW Island Water World Caribbean http://www.islandwaterworld.com is offering an interesting new type of wind generator for both low and hight wind speed made by Spreco, the manufacturer of the so called “noiseless blades”.
http://www.islandwaterworld.com/browse. ... 14318.html
Any experience so far?
The diagram http://www.silentwindgenerator.com/curv ... anguage=en is looking nice. That item might be the positive output mix of the low wind designed Air breeze and the high wind designed Air X. It starts spinning at 4 knots and stops at 27.
Coming from Air X / Air Breeze:
Spreco is offering identical spares for Spreco Wind / Air X / Air Breeze
Same ("noiseless" blue") blades
Same pole size
Same hub size (I think better hub quality)
Same spinner size (I think a much better spinner quality)
Maybe the external regulator will fit on all types (stop swith integrated inside the reg, maybe 12V/24V switch inside the reg)
Tests in the field will be interesting and very warm welcome.
read more.....

 

by SY Use Akschen " Oct 21, 2010 12:27 am"
Hallo,
wir haben seit 8 Wochen auf unserer Segelyacht den neuen Silentwindgenerator installiert. Hatten im Lauf der letzten 18 Jahre auf unserem Schiff Ampair100, AirX und den Superwind installiert.
Der Silentwind Generator ist der leiseste den wir bisher montiert hatten. Neulich lag ein Schiff mit einem Ampair direkt neben uns, was man hörte war nur der Ampair unseren Silentwind nicht. Bei SVB kann man den jetzt bestellen oder schau mal unter www.silentwind.de
read more.....

 

by SY Use Akschen " Sep 29, 2010 8:15 am"
Hallo Fahrtensegler,
Endlich, seit 14 Tagen haben wir auf unserer Segelyacht Use Akschen den Windgenerator installiert, der schon im Palstek, SEGELN und der Zeitschrift Yacht vorgestellt wurde. Der Silentwind Generator läuft so leise, dass im direkten Vergleich nur der auf dem Nachbarschiff montierte AMPAIR Pacific zu hören war und der wird als geräuschlos gehandelt. Auch der mitgelieferte Hybrid-Laderegler hat´s in sich, man kann da noch zusätzlich eine 100Watt Solaranlage anschließen. Am LCD-Display sind Spannung der Batterie, Ladestrom in Ampére oder in Watt, sogar die Ladeleistung in Ah oder KWh sind ablesbar.
Unser Traum unser Schiff autark mit Strom zu versorgen ist in Erfüllung gegangen, den Rest erledigt eine 240Watt Solaranlage und ein 200Wp Windgenerator Air Breeze auch mit den CFK-Flüsterflügeln ausgestattet, vergesst den schwarzen "Festmacher".
Man merkt hier haben sich Segler mal Gedanken gemacht, die Konstrukteure sind Fahrtensegler wie man auf der Webseite des Importeurs www.silentwind.de lesen kann. Laut war gestern, das Motto können wir unterschreiben !
read more.....

 

by nukahiva " Sun Sep 05, 2010 4:42 am
I too bought the Silentwindgenerator blades for my Air-x and agree the decrease in noise was unbelievable. They now make a wind generator that looks similar to the Air-x. If is as good a product as the blades they will give them a good run for the money. If I ever need a new generator I would try one of theirs. I recieved my new blades 3 business days after I ordered them, very impressive service.
read more.....

 

by Rich Schultz » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:58 pm
Seems to me if the output of the Breeze is 200w and the X is 400w it is kind of silly to say they have the same output. I have an Air-X and out of the box they are definitely screamers. I have not heard an Air Breeze so I can´t comment on their noise level. About a year ago I switched out the Air-X blades with those that were designed in Germany and built in Portugal. They are marketed by Silentwindgenerator http://www.silentwindgenerator.com/ the difference is phenomenal. Most of the time I can barely hear them turning. Others found them so quiet that they were able to hear that the bearings needed work.
read more.....

 

by nukahiva on Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:50 pm
We installed the Air-x noiseless blades and were surprised how quiet they are. The max wind has been 15mph but the difference is remarkable compared to the OEM blades. I will be interested to hear what they sound like in 20-25mph winds but expect them to be much quieter than the originals. I hated my Air-x the first time I turned it on and heard the noise. After 3 years I think I may start to love it. We could only hear it if we actually tried to listen.
If the Air-X manufacturer supplied these as standard they would have a winner.
I have to thank SSCA members who wrote about this product, I had never heard of it.
read more....


Sun Feb 08, 2009 9:19 pm comin´ soon
By far more silent is the Air X with Air+ blades.
Inside of the boat you don`t hear the blades at all. You only hear the generator itself, means the bearings.
read more.....

 

Feb 02, 2009 3:40 pm marioborg SV Maltese Falcon
Since installing these new blades the Air-X has been running 24/7 non stop. Well worth the money.
It is such a joy to know that this machine is running and not hearing it at all except for some nise from the bearings.
therefore now we are getting 30% more energy from the Air X wind generator.
No more complaints from niebours and crew, enjoy.
read more.....

 

13.09.2008 - 15:21 Sy Sparrow
Moin moin, meine neuen Flügel sind da!
Kann das was Info geschrieben hat eigentlich nur bestätigen. Die Neuen sind wesentlich steifer als die Alten und breiter. Sind metallic blau lakiert und nicht durchgefärbt. Hoffentlich hält der Lack. Geräuschentwiklung ist sehr gering, so das man glaube ich sagen kann das der AirX nun einer der leisesten Windgeneratoren auf dem Markt ist!
Bin jedenfalls begeistert
read more.....

 

04.09.2008, 11:49 Nelson
Das Einzige was man vom AirX noch hört, ist das Surren des Lagers.
read more.....

 

01.03.2008 - 03:06 info
Die sieht man, aber die hört man nicht. Man hört den Air laufen, die Turbine, aber kaum die Flügel, selbst wenn man davor oder daneben steht. Unter Deck hört man gar nichts, obwohl man auf dem Kat mit seiner Leichtbauweise jeden Regentropfen hört, normale Air`s oder Superwind etc. natürlich sowieso. Es ist beachtlich, was hier geschaffen wurde. In die Wirklichkeit kommt man zurück, wenn zu dem Air X mit den neuen Flügeln der 2. Air X mit den normalen Flügeln zugeschaltet wird. Dann pfeift und brummt es wie eh und je und jeder ist froh, wenn dieser Air schnell wieder abgeschaltet ist. Dann ist sofort wieder Ruhe auf dem Schiff und man hört nur noch von anderen Schiffen die Airs und Superwinds etc. pfeifen.
Trotzdem zeigten die Amperemeter für beide Airs X, den mit neuen und den alten Flügeln, dieselben Werte.
read more....